Incubus- Friends and Lovers

Last week while doing dishes and listening to the new Incubus CD, “If Not Now, When?” I listened to the following song, like I had so many times before, but a certain stanza really stuck out to me this time. Here’s the lyrics of the whole song.

I’m a ne’er do well
Runnin’ off black gold
It’s high time I pulled over
And walked around a while

I’ve seen that porcelain shell
Your exoskeleton
And I feel like we’d walk well together

Because in the end, we are friends and lovers.

If asked of me I would
Gobble them to bits
The things that wall us off from
Where we belong

What’s wrong with you is good
For what’s wrong with me
And I think maybe we should stick together.

Because in the end, we are friends and lovers
We are friends and lovers.

Abandon all the bones
We’ve got to pick
They’ll only weigh us down and
We’re better than that
If they all throw stones
Start a collection
Of everything we’re not
And wont (be)cause

You should never have to defend
Being friends and lovers.
Being friends and lovers.
Being friends and lovers.

First of all, I like this song because it’s chill and I can relate with the idea with Josh being my husband, therefore friend and lover (By the way, doesn’t “lover” just sound like a taboo word? Like I would never say it out loud in a conversation kind of thing… maybe it’s just me). It’s like walking through life with your companion, which is sweet.  Oh, and we don’t endorse being a “lover” if not married yadda yadda, but I want you to focus on that bolded stanza. Here it is by itself.

Abandon all the bones
We’ve got to pick
They’ll only weigh us down and
We’re better than that
If they all throw stones
Start a collection
Of everything we’re not
And wont (be)cause 

I thought this was really profound, by itself out of context even. It’s saying to drop your grudges, let it go because it’s only affecting you, and it’s affecting you negatively. You ARE better than that, holding onto your grudges like a poison. And if people try to bring you down, just keep moving, don’t give them the time of day. Think of all of the things that people have ever said to you, how often did you get offended? The thing about being offended is that you CHOOSE to be offended… Not saying that it’s not easy to get offended, but how much better of a person would you be if you straight up didn’t let it get to you? Because those things they’re saying are only going to slow you down. Life is fleeting. We have so much we want to do with our time so why give someone else that pleasure of stealing some of your precious time while you bitterly take offense. The only way you’ll move on is if you forgive them at a drop of the hat, and continue on, without losing stride. Because you CAN forgive those who offend you. I don’t need to drop Bible verses here for you to understand that that’s what we’re supposed to do anyways. Move on, be happy.

I’ve struggled with this a lot in my life. Only recently, with much prayer, have I been able to forgive people, and myself.

Here’s the music video if you want to watch it and hear the song.

Keep on lovin’ the music,

Emily

This entry was posted in Pure Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

