Spaghetti Dinner with Eggplant

So I have this AMAZING cookbook I’m going to cook my way through and post about the recipes. We’ve been eating out of these recipes for a couple weeks now and everything is fantastic. Here’s the kicker – it’s all meat-less. We are not vegetarians. Simple as that. Josh is one of those guys who always asks where the meat is if he doesn’t see it, but he loves these dishes too! The cookbook is “The Forget-About-Meat Cookbook” by Karen Brooks. The name is straight-forward and so are the recipes. There aren’t weird ingredients like in other vegetarian dishes that I’ve seen, and the dishes are super cheap to make, but they don’t lack flavor my any means.

<<<Please forgive the quality of these photos, they’re from my tablet because I can’t find my camera for the life of me. And my tablet only has a conference camera, so I had to flip it around and shoot blind, which is why everything is… off center >>>

Here’s a picture of the cookbook.

Tonight I’m making Spaghetti with eggplant in it instead of meat. I added some health benefits of the ingredients used just to make you feel that much better about the dish J. The eggplant was a variation, so you can add it or not.

Here’s the ingredients.

And here’s the choppable ingredients all chopped up nice!

So you have to add a quart of tomato puree… which, before you Google how many cups in a quart, is 4 cups. I had huge tomatoes, so each tomato ended up about 1 cup pureed. I just worked them through my Magic Bullet one at a time and it was pretty quick.

So add your chopped veggies to a large pot.

Then the tomatoes, bay leaf, cayenne, Italian seasoning, and salt. As you can see by my big wooden spoon in the picture, you should now stir it.

Maybe it was because I added a whole eggplant, but I felt it was too chunky so I added some tomato sauce to it.

Bring this to a simmer and set your timer for 45 minutes (because I’m sure you needed a picture of my stove timer to complete your experience)

When there was 15 minutes left I cooked some spaghetti up in salt water, and enjoy the sweet aroma of your sauce. Now is also a good time to taste test it to make sure your seasonings are on point.

Serve and enjoy!

And now for the real recipe!

Ingredients:

12 oz. buckwheat or soy spaghetti (I’m using regular spaghetti because it’s there)

1 T oil (I use olive)

Sauce:

4 T olive oil (vitamin E and antioxidants)

½ onion, chopped (antioxidants and is great for your liver)

½ green pepper, chopped (vitamin E and C and six carotenoids)

3 stalks celery, chopped (lowers blood pressure, has vitamins B1, B2, B6 and C)

¼ pound mushrooms, sliced (vitamin D, antioxidants and B vitamins)

1 clove garlic, chopped (great for your heart and preventing cancers)

1 eggplant, chopped (antioxidants and heart health)

1 quart tomato puree (vitamin A, C, K, folate, potassium and a bunch more)

1 t honey (boosts immune system and helps prevent cancer)

1 bay leaf

Salt, cayenne pepper, basil and oregano (I’m just using Italian seasoning) to taste

Directions:

  1. In large pot, cook spaghetti in water with oil until spaghetti is tender. Drain and rinse with cold water.
  2. For sauce, in heavy sauce pan, mix first 7 ingredients.
  3. Add remaining ingredients and simmer sauce 45 minutes.
  4. Serve over spaghetti.

*** Note: if sauce is too thick, add a little water to thin out, or replace part of tomato puree with tomato juice as I did***

This entry was posted in Domesticity, Food, Healthy Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spaghetti Dinner with Eggplant

  1. Alison says:

    Hmmm…for my meat-only husband, I wonder if I could just replace the eggplant with italian sausage, then cut up the other items real fine so they are not identifiable in the sauce 🙂 I might give it a try, as I was really wanting to find a good home-made spaghetti sauce recipe. How do you think it would fair (fare?) if you can it?

    • I would cook it like normal, without the sausages, then puree the sauce when done (at which time you could can it) then throw it back in the pot and simmer with sausages 10 minutes or so:-) then you don’t have to spend the time chopping like crazy!

Leave a Reply

