31 Day Fall Challenge: Making Your Home a Haven

I follow this great blog, Women Living Well, and Courtney there is doing a great challenge for women to make their home more of a haven. I’m all about being the best homemaker I can be, so I’m going to do this challenge in November. It’s begins November 5th, and runs all month long. The topic schedule, as Courtney wrote it, is as follows:

November 5th –Go buy an extra large candle and light a candle everyday in your home. I will be starting mine in the morning! But you can start yours at dinner time. Do what makes sense for your family. I will be placing mine in the kitchen – the main hub of my home. Each time the candle catches your eye, say a prayer for peace in your home. (because I have insane cats, I’m going to use my Scentsy instead of a candle)

November 12th – Play soft music everyday in your home. Choose worship, classical or another form of peaceful music that the family enjoys. I’ll be playing Christmas music!  Focus on using peaceful words and maintaining peaceful relationships. Work on gentleness this week. (this may be difficult for me… I only have 40 hours on Pandora, and don’t have much other relaxing music… must investigate…)

November 19th – Focus on the kitchen, the heart of the home. Cook things with pleasant aromas – like homemade bread, pies, and cookies.  Don’t wait to have a reason to make something special – do it simply to show love to your family. Invite your kids and/or hubby to cook along side of you – make memories in the kitchen – test tasting, being creative, laughing and loving. Remove discontentment and give thanks to God for the home God has given you in which to create a haven for your family. (this will also be a challenge because Josh is on a super strict diet, so I’m going to have to find low-calorie, healthy things to make)

November 26th – Decorate! The holidays are upon us.  Ann Voskamp says “Creating is good theology.  In the beginning God created.”  Be creative as you make your home warm, cozy and inviting for the holidays.  Think about ways you can keep Christ in Christmas even in the way you decorate. (I’ve been waiting for this all year! This is the first year we’ll be decorating for Christmas in our own home – super exciting!)

Stay with me as I go through this challenge and see the affects on our home! Also check out Women Living Well!

Do you have any type of rituals or traditions to prepare for and enjoy the holidays?

Emily

This entry was posted in Domesticity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

