Birthday Plate!

Jax is now 4 1/2 months old, so I know I have a little ways off until his first birthday, but I REALLY want to make birthdays special in my family. I’ve seen people on Pinterest create birthday plates, but I never been “inspired” to do one. Lucky for me, our women’s activity at church on Tuesday devoted the evening to all things Pinterest, and as an activity we made these plates! Now the great thing is – they’re ONLY $1!!! What could be better than that!?!? Well, free I guess, but $1 isn’t bad!

Supplies:

White plate (they have them at the $1 store!)

Colored Sharpies (I already had some lying around for art projects)

So basically all you do is draw on a plate with colored Sharpies, let them sit for 24 hours, then bake it at 150 degrees for half an hour (my oven only goes down to 170 degrees so I put it in for 25 minutes). Some of the ladies at church were using stencils to outline what they wanted to draw, while others, like myself, just bit the bullet and free-handed it. Here’s a few tips I discovered about this project:

1. You can use a Magic Eraser to fix your mistakes!

2. DO NOT outline in black first, you’ll rub up against it with your colors and contaminate them. I outlined my letters in the blue I used in their stripes, then after they were colored in, I outlined them in black.

3. Sketch your idea out first on paper. This helps cement an idea sometimes, and if you can see the composition, you can adjust it accordingly.

Excellent! Well I’m SUPER excited to use this for birthdays in my house, just a special plate for the birthday boy or girl to eat their birthday dessert on! Woot! What do you do to make birthdays special in your family?

This entry was posted in Domesticity, Frugal Craftiness, Provident Living and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

