New Mom Realizations

Image

Our darling son Jaxton came on April 14th, and boy did our world change! There’s a lot of things people tell you about how being a new mom will be, and though these advice bits were helpful, I’ve had a few epiphanies of my own, here are a few…

Image

1. You really do need to sleep when they sleep.  I’ve been lucky enough to get probably an average of 6-8 hours each day (night and day included) basing my activities around this principle. We were, however, really lucky to have a baby who only gets up once at night about half the nights.

2. He really is your world. It’s amazing how much your world revolves around his schedule, and being at home with Jax, I’m totally tuned in to when he needs a diaper change (without smelling the diaper), when he needs to eat etc.

Image

3. You spend a lot more time on your knees in prayer.  The first week I felt totally defeated.  My mom and step-dad came up to Utah to help me in that first week, and I just kept thinking how I was going to manage it when they left! (crazy postpartum hormones didn’t really help my case).  And boy have a prayed a lot since Jax was born- and not just the, “Please Heavenly Father help him to stay asleep!” prayers.  Having Jax has been really good for my spirituality, and patience ;).

4. One last little thought, ever since I’ve had Jax, I haven’t ever taken showers for granted! They have seriously been my saving grace, like my personal reset button.

Being a mom is amazing, and so rewarding- I’m especially grateful to my husband for taking the leap to have me stay at home. Life is good 🙂

Emily

This entry was posted in Current Events, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Mom Realizations

  1. Jordyn says:

    Totally agree with those epiphanies! Especially the showering part. If I get a shower, I feel TONS better for the rest of the day. Oh, and by the way, yellow is totally Jax’s color! Super, super cute! 🙂

  2. musingsfromasahm says:

    He is so precious! You are doing an amazing job and just remember that the sleeplessness and exhaustion will get better. ((HUGS))

  3. musingsfromasahm says:

    He is so precious!! I love his big eyes! You are doing an amazing job and just remember the exhaustion will get better. ((HUGS))

Leave a Reply

