Amidst Never Ending Change

We’ve had our very first baby boy and child! And boy do I feel like I’ve been hit by a freight train when he’s screaming at me to do something. Do what? i’m asking. I have no clue what i’m doing! So as Jaxton’s cries persist both my wife and I look like we are about to explode! And then, something wonderful happens, he lets off this big surprising fart (sounds like a Daddy fart), and both me and my wife look at each other and burst into laughter.

A constant ebb and flow of emotions my wife and I have been for the last two weeks. My wife at least has an excuse, me, I feel like their should be a thing called Postjaxtonbirth depression so it would include me and give me an excuse (Em is fine she doesn’t have postpartum) . I had no clue what I was getting into just under a year ago when we decided to have our first child. I thought you just start having children and then immediately they bring absolute joy to your world. Don’t get me wrong, Jaxton has been the most awesome thing that has ever happened in my life, I just forgot that there is always some opposition to the absolute joys of your world.

Funny thing tho, I would have to say that I’ve hit a new level on both sides of the spectrum. The Lord has opened up new possibilities of keeping me humble while giving me a euphoria of joy in the process. It is truly funny how that works and I’m so excited for what possible things lie ahead.

Peace be the journey mon (said in a rasta voice),

Josh

This entry was posted in Daddy Rant, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amidst Never Ending Change

  1. Alison says:

    A great entry, Josh. In order to enjoy the exquisite blessings of family we need to go through an equal amount of struggle and heartache. But that is the path we walk to become all we can become. You two are doing great; just keep plugging through as you are doing now. I am so proud of you!

    Good luck with work!

  2. Jordyn says:

    Well, I’d like to say that it get’s better soon, but Trevor is still struggling. I am finally head over heels in love with our little girl (it didn’t happen all at once or right away), but then again, I’m with her 24 hours a day. Trevor is only with her in the evening, and most of the time, he’s dealing with her pre-bedtime fussiness. I know he’ll form a stronger bond with her, but I also know that it will take some time. It’s just part of the journey. 😉

Leave a Reply

